December 28, 2021

™The Basic Types of ITIL® Change Management and Best Practices for It 


Change is crucial to every individual and organization, as it is to the IT industry. ITIL® 4 is a management framework that helps IT corporations deliver value to clients and businesses. Change Management is a key concept that ITIL® 4 preaches, involving an effective and planned deployment of a requested change, without it hampering other IT processes or working personnel. Change here usually refers to the updates to the internal and or client-facing software solutions and systems that the IT service is concerned with. During your ITIL® Foundation training, you will become more familiar with Change Management and how to work it in IT, its best practices, challenges, and proceedings, but for now, let’s focus on a briefer outline.

The Three Types of Change

Change can be classified into more or less three or four types usually depending upon their level of risk and the level of impact it can have on the immediate environment.

Standard Change

Firstly, we have Standard Change which is of minimal risk and is pre-defined, and thus with low impact. These are usually periodical changes that do not require approval every time of implementation. These can even be automated by pre-defined templates, and are familiar changes that have been successful previously. For eg. OS up-gradation.

READ MORE:  What Are the Very Basic Things Which People Should Know About Integral Calculus?

Emergency Change

Secondly, we have an emergency change whose nature is completely contrary to that of a standard change. These are high-risk, high-impact changes that come as unexpected disruptions and need immediate handling to avoid damage. It can be restorative or precautionary and requires immediate approval from the emergency CAB approval group. For eg: Security Breach

Normal Change

Thirdly we have a normal change which can be further subcategorized into minor or major changes depending upon their level of risk. Normal changes are the ones that neither fit into the criteria of a standard or emergency change. These are precautionary or developmental changes that require approval of a certain part whether the CAB or the Change Manager and requires extensive staged planning which is not the case for emergency changes. For eg. Website performance improvement.

Best Practices for ITIL® 4 Change Management

  1. Adapt to Tracking Metrics and KPIs for Better Change Management.

Monitoring change, the space between each change, the employees and how much one is involved in it, the successes and failures, and so on. Visualizing it will not only help you get better with risk and change management but also help assess future risks and how to avoid them with machine learning.

  1. Re-Evaluate the CAB Model

The CAB doesn’t need to be contacted every time there is a need for change. This will only slow down the process of change and increase the risk factor. Reevaluate the traditional CAB model and only approach when the riskiest changes need to be approved, shift it to virtual medium and task them with strategies redistributing the workload.

READ MORE:  Components of Motion Control


  1. Defining Roles and Change

To increase efficiency in change management its very important to set clear definitions of the degrees of change, and also assign established roles like the CAB, the change manager, the change owner, and so on, and also define who will need to be involved in which category of change to increase efficiency.


Want to learn more and get better at these effective  ITIL® 4 methods and practices, from Change Management to Architecture Management, Talent Management, and more? Look no further and enroll yourself at KnowledgeHut for a well-rounded learning experience where you can gain theoretical and real-world knowledge of the best IT practices so far.


Read more : React js Certification


basic, change, management, practices, types

You may also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}